What is gluten?
Increasingly, many began to get mysterious word gluten, it filled the entire Internet and nobody will be surprised product contains a label «gluten free». But what is gluten, not everyone knows of the danger that contains this substance?
What is gluten?
Gluten is one type of protein, which is contained in the seeds of a huge number of cereals. For example, in wheat, rye, oats, and others. In the dry state it has no colour and taste but if you add a little water, it will become gray, and the texture will resemble a glue (also called fibrin).
Manufacturers, not only bakery products, guided by the content of gluten in flour, the more it is, the quality of flour is considered to be higher at low levels of the protein, the dough loses its elasticity and firmness. It is used not only for the production of bakery products, but also as fillers, when you add it to the manufactured product, e.g. candy, ice cream, condensed milk. Their texture becomes softer, with enhanced palatability.
What danger is there?
There are cases when I meet people who have an Allergy to gluten. This is due to the fact that the immunity of such people qualifies this protein as a foreign substance, thus forcing the entire body to stand up to him. If you are allergic to gluten is bloating and upset stomach, often nausea and vomiting. Such symptoms exacerbated diseases such as anemia, exhaustion, and often mental retardation. But such allergic intolerance suffers one percent of the total population. Of course, it is not necessary gluten to abuse and healthy people, it enters the body, affects the intestine, vitamins and minerals are very poorly absorbed, and the sugar, the fats that are deposited as fat on the body.
What foods contain?
Gluten is found in wheat, oats, barley and other cereals. In food you can find it in bakery products, confectionery, lavash bread and beer and most other food products. It is added to foods to give them not only taste, but also the elasticity needed form. It may also be added to ketchup, mayonnaise, various dressings, sausages, candy and chips. Often, this protein can be found in tablets and various vitamins. When you buy products on the label, it can indicate:
- modified food starch;
- hydrolyzed plant protein;
- textured vegetable protein.
It is worth to note that it is not contained in fruits and vegetables, meat, fish and other natural products. If you are going to pay more attention to proper nutrition, he will not be able to harm.